Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley, Sequel to Pride and Prejudice, Opens This Weekend at Classic Theatre of San Antonio

Posted By on Wed, Nov 28, 2018 at 10:40 AM

click to enlarge CLASSIC THEATRE OF SAN ANTONIO
  • Classic Theatre of San Antonio
This playful sequel to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice opens on the tableau of Christmas 1815, a few years after Elizabeth Bennet wed Fitzwilliam Darcy (sorry, we’re not gonna spoiler-tag a 200-year-old novel, y’all).

Feeling left out as her other sisters find love, bookish middle-daughter Mary Bennet travels to the Darcys’ Pemberley estate for familial Christmas festivities. Likewise, Mr. Darcy’s shy cousin Arthur de Bourgh makes his own trek to Pemberley for the holiday, which, unbeknownst to him, will lead to a fateful meeting.

Fans of Pride and Prejudice will be well-rewarded, as the play is chock full of allusions to Austen’s seminal work, but if you haven’t read the book (or have, and just don’t remember it), this yuletide romance stands on its own. Kelly Roush directs the Classic Theatre’s production.

$18-$33, 8pm Fri Nov. 30-Sat Dec. 1, 3pm Sun Dec. 2 through Dec. 23, The Classic Theatre of San Antonio, 1924 Fredericksburg Road, (210) 589-8450, classictheatre.org.
Event Details Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley
@ Classic Theatre of San Antonio
1924 Fredericksburg Rd.
Balcones Heights
San Antonio, TX
When: Sundays, 3 p.m. and Fridays, Saturdays, 8 p.m. Continues through Dec. 23
Price: $18-$33
Buy Tickets
Theater and Comedy

Get our top picks for the best events in San Antonio every Thursday morning. Sign up for our Events Newsletter.


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Related Locations

Related Events

  • <em>Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley</em>

    Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley @ Classic Theatre of San Antonio

    • Sundays, 3 p.m. and Fridays, Saturdays, 8 p.m. Continues through Dec. 23 $18-$33
    • Buy Tickets

Calendar

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.