Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley, Sequel to Pride and Prejudice, Opens This Weekend at Classic Theatre of San Antonio

click to enlarge Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley, Sequel to Pride and Prejudice, Opens This Weekend at Classic Theatre of San Antonio
Classic Theatre of San Antonio
This playful sequel to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice opens on the tableau of Christmas 1815, a few years after Elizabeth Bennet wed Fitzwilliam Darcy (sorry, we’re not gonna spoiler-tag a 200-year-old novel, y’all).

Feeling left out as her other sisters find love, bookish middle-daughter Mary Bennet travels to the Darcys’ Pemberley estate for familial Christmas festivities. Likewise, Mr. Darcy’s shy cousin Arthur de Bourgh makes his own trek to Pemberley for the holiday, which, unbeknownst to him, will lead to a fateful meeting.

Fans of Pride and Prejudice will be well-rewarded, as the play is chock full of allusions to Austen’s seminal work, but if you haven’t read the book (or have, and just don’t remember it), this yuletide romance stands on its own. Kelly Roush directs the Classic Theatre’s production.

$18-$33, 8pm Fri Nov. 30-Sat Dec. 1, 3pm Sun Dec. 2 through Dec. 23, The Classic Theatre of San Antonio, 1924 Fredericksburg Road, (210) 589-8450, classictheatre.org.

Get our top picks for the best events in San Antonio every Thursday morning. Sign up for our Events Newsletter.
Scroll to read more Arts Stories & Interviews articles

Kelly Nelson

Kelly Nelson is a digital content editor for the San Antonio Current.

Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.