Best Of 2017

Best Flower Shop
OUR PICK: No. 9 Florals, 4347 McCullough Ave., (210) 232-4471, no9floralandgifts.com

While Laredo native David Garcia’s distinctive floral operation Statue of Design has already found its niche in San Antonio by creating both traditional and wildly original arrangements and full-on environments for photo shoots, special events, weddings and clients in the know, his new venture No. 9 Florals is still flying somewhat under the radar in a stylishly refurbished outpost in Olmos Park. Blink and you’ll miss it, but the compact entryway opens into a quietly dazzling, industrial-chic space where Garcia and his staff help customers design personalized bouquets (based on budget and taste) artfully arranged in a curated assortment of vases that are worth keeping around and reusing. Although also stocked with unique gifts and accessories (including candles, jewelry and home accents sourced from New Orleans and beyond), No. 9’s second-most popular product is probably chocolate. When On Main Off Main closed its doors early this year, Garcia took over the beloved novelty shop’s chocolate counter, which he’s reinforced with niche products like floral-flavored popcorn and locally crafted caramels.



WINNER: Bike World, multiple locations, bikeworld.com

2. Bicycle Heaven, multiple locations, bicycle-heaven.com

3. Blue Star Bike Shop, 1414 S. Alamo St., (210) 858-0331, bluestarbikeshop.com


WINNER: Twig Book Shop, 306 Pearl Pkwy., (210) 826-6411, thetwig.com

2. Nine Lives, 4907 NW Loop 410 #102, (210) 647-5656, ninelivesbooks.com

3. Imagine Books and Records, 8373 Culebra Ste 201B, (210) 236-7668, imaginebookstore.com


WINNER: Bazinga Comics, 2941 Thousand Oaks Drive, Suite 101, (210) 404-9174, bazingacomics.com

2. Dragon’s Lair, 7959 Fredericksburg Road, (210) 615-1229, dlair.net

3. Gotham Newsstand, 4522 Fredericksburg Road, (210) 379-5115, gothamnewsstand.com


WINNER: Trader’s Village, 9333 SW Loop 410, (210) 623-8383, tradersvillage.com/san-antonio

2. Eisenhauer Flea Market, 3903 Eisenhauer Road, (210) 468-1081, eisenhauerfleamarketsa.net

3. Busseys, 18738 I-35 S., Schertz, (830) 609-0800, busseysfm.com

WINNER: Spring Garden Flower Shop, 211 Brooklyn Ave., (210) 229-1231, springgardenflowershop.com

2. Artistic Blooms, 7863 Callaghan Road, Suite 103, (210) 696-8080, artisticblooms.com

3. HEB Blooms, multiple locations, heb.com


WINNER: Las Americas, 6623 San Pedro Ave., (210) 340-2747, lasamericaslatinmarket.com

2. Tim’s Oriental Seafood Market, 7015 Bandera Road, Suite 8, (210) 523-1688

3. Ali Baba, 9307 Wurzbach Road, (210) 691-1111, alibabasanantonio.com


WINNER: Total Wine and More, multiple locations, totalwine.com

2. PigLiquors, 519 S. Presa, (210) 226-6465, pigliquors.net

3. Gabriel’s, multiple locations, gabrielsliquor.com

4. Alamo City Liquor, 2943 Thousand Oaks Drive, Suite 3, (210) 490-9883, garrisonbros.com/alamo-city-liquor


WINNER: Redbone, 8126 Broadway, (210) 822-4111, redboneguitar.com

2. Alamo Music Center, multiple locations, alamomusic.com

3. Robot Monster, 517 E. Woodlawn Ave., (210) 320-1710, robotmonsterguitars.com


WINNER: Amols', 710 S. Flores St., (210) 227-1457, amols.com

2. Piñata Time, 3005 W. Commerce St., (210) 277-7406,
facebook.com/pinatatimes.a.3005/

3. Fiesta on Main, 2025 N. Main Ave., (210) 738-1188, alamofiesta.com


WINNER: Shades of Green, 334 W. Sunset Road, (210) 824-3772, shadesofgreensa.com

2. Rainbow Gardens, multiple locations, rainbowgardens.biz

3. Evergreen Garden, 922 W. Hildebrand Ave., (210) 735-0669, facebook.com/evergreengardensatx