Best Of 2017

Best Plant Nursery
Photo by Bryan Rindfuss
Our Pick: Rainbow Gardens, Multiple locations, rainbowgardens.biz

Thanks to Rainbow Gardens, you don’t need to have a green thumb to become an excellent gardener. With two locations in San Antonio, the garden center is a one-stop shop for both expert gardeners and those just getting their feet wet. Whether you’re browsing through the hundreds of flowers, shrubs and trees available or just stopping in for something specific, Rainbow Gardens never disappoints (plus their nursery makes for a beautiful spot for selfies). Along with your new plants, you’ll find plenty of tips and tricks from the pros, gardening classes and seminars at Rainbow Gardens. This year also marks the nursery’s 30th anniversary, so you know they must be doing something right.


WINNER: Bike World, multiple locations, bikeworld.com

2. Bicycle Heaven, multiple locations, bicycle-heaven.com

3. Blue Star Bike Shop, 1414 S. Alamo St., (210) 858-0331, bluestarbikeshop.com


WINNER: Twig Book Shop, 306 Pearl Pkwy., (210) 826-6411, thetwig.com

2. Nine Lives, 4907 NW Loop 410 #102, (210) 647-5656, ninelivesbooks.com

3. Imagine Books and Records, 8373 Culebra Ste 201B, (210) 236-7668, imaginebookstore.com


WINNER: Bazinga Comics, 2941 Thousand Oaks Drive, Suite 101, (210) 404-9174, bazingacomics.com

2. Dragon’s Lair, 7959 Fredericksburg Road, (210) 615-1229, dlair.net

3. Gotham Newsstand, 4522 Fredericksburg Road, (210) 379-5115, gothamnewsstand.com


WINNER: Trader’s Village, 9333 SW Loop 410, (210) 623-8383, tradersvillage.com/san-antonio

2. Eisenhauer Flea Market, 3903 Eisenhauer Road, (210) 468-1081, eisenhauerfleamarketsa.net

3. Busseys, 18738 I-35 S., Schertz, (830) 609-0800, busseysfm.com

WINNER: Spring Garden Flower Shop, 211 Brooklyn Ave., (210) 229-1231, springgardenflowershop.com

2. Artistic Blooms, 7863 Callaghan Road, Suite 103, (210) 696-8080, artisticblooms.com

3. HEB Blooms, multiple locations, heb.com


WINNER: Las Americas, 6623 San Pedro Ave., (210) 340-2747, lasamericaslatinmarket.com

2. Tim’s Oriental Seafood Market, 7015 Bandera Road, Suite 8, (210) 523-1688

3. Ali Baba, 9307 Wurzbach Road, (210) 691-1111, alibabasanantonio.com


WINNER: Total Wine and More, multiple locations, totalwine.com

2. PigLiquors, 519 S. Presa, (210) 226-6465, pigliquors.net

3. Gabriel’s, multiple locations, gabrielsliquor.com

4. Alamo City Liquor, 2943 Thousand Oaks Drive, Suite 3, (210) 490-9883, garrisonbros.com/alamo-city-liquor


WINNER: Redbone, 8126 Broadway, (210) 822-4111, redboneguitar.com

2. Alamo Music Center, multiple locations, alamomusic.com

3. Robot Monster, 517 E. Woodlawn Ave., (210) 320-1710, robotmonsterguitars.com


WINNER: Amols', 710 S. Flores St., (210) 227-1457, amols.com

2. Piñata Time, 3005 W. Commerce St., (210) 277-7406,
facebook.com/pinatatimes.a.3005/

3. Fiesta on Main, 2025 N. Main Ave., (210) 738-1188, alamofiesta.com


WINNER: Shades of Green, 334 W. Sunset Road, (210) 824-3772, shadesofgreensa.com

2. Rainbow Gardens, multiple locations, rainbowgardens.biz

3. Evergreen Garden, 922 W. Hildebrand Ave., (210) 735-0669, facebook.com/evergreengardensatx