Saturday, June 21, 2008

The Tejas delegation's FISA vote

Posted By on Sat, Jun 21, 2008 at 12:00 AM

In case you were wondering how the Texas delegation voted on the FISA "reform" compromise now winging its way to the Senate, here's the tally from (where you can find the entire voting record, too:


No Vote TX-1 Gohmert, Louis `R`

Aye TX-2 Poe, Ted `R`

Aye TX-3 Johnson, Samuel `R`

Aye TX-4 Hall, Ralph `R`

Aye TX-5 Hensarling, Jeb `R`

Aye TX-6 Barton, Joe `R`

Aye TX-7 Culberson, John `R`

Aye TX-8 Brady, Kevin `R`

Aye TX-9 Green, Al `D`

Aye TX-10 McCaul, Michael `R`

Aye TX-11 Conaway, K. `R`

Aye TX-12 Granger, Kay `R`

Aye TX-13 Thornberry, William `R`

No Vote TX-14 Paul, Ronald `R`

Aye TX-15 Hinojosa, Rubén `D`

Aye TX-16 Reyes, Silvestre `D`

Aye TX-17 Edwards, Thomas `D`

Nay TX-18 Jackson-Lee, Sheila `D`

Aye TX-19 Neugebauer, Randy `R`

Nay TX-20 Gonzalez, Charles `D`

Aye TX-21 Smith, Lamar `R`

Aye TX-22 Lampson, Nicholas `D`

Aye TX-23 Rodriguez, Ciro `D`

Aye TX-24 Marchant, Kenny `R`

Nay TX-25 Doggett, Lloyd `D`

Aye TX-26 Burgess, Michael `R`

Aye TX-27 Ortiz, Solomon `D`

Aye TX-28 Cuellar, Henry `D`

Aye TX-29 Green, Raymond `D`

Nay TX-30 Johnson, Eddie `D`

Aye TX-31 Carter, John `R`

Aye TX-32 Sessions, Peter `R`

It looks like Representative Charlie Gonzalez kept his word, even though it was lonely standing up for spy-com accountability. “I’ve never been for `retroactive immunity`” he told the Current, in February, and it's gratifying to see him stick to his guns, especially since AT&T, the telecom most publicly associated with the illegal wiretapping thanks to a whistleblower, has been a Gonzalez $$ supporter. “We ask individuals to be accountable for their actions — they’re not granted immunity ... When you have liability, it produces responsibility.”



Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.