Democrats Castro, Cuellar, Doggett hang on to their U.S. House seats representing San Antonio

U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro - Screen Capture / C-SPAN
Screen Capture / C-SPAN
U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro
The hotly contested U.S. House races in Texas' 21st and 23rd districts — both of which include part of San Antonio — remained too tough to call a little after 9:30 p.m.

However, San Antonio's three other congressional races played out largely as expected, with Democratic incumbents wrapping up wins in each. Here's how they played out, according to Decision Desk HQ:

20th District (San Antonio)

Joaquin Castro, Democrat (Incumbent) 65.3%
Mauro Garza, Republican 32.7%

28th District (San Antonio, Laredo, South Texas)

Henry Cuellar, Democrat (Incumbent) 58.2%
Sandra Whitten, Republican 39.3%

35th District (San Antonio and Austin)
Lloyd Doggett, Democrat (Incumbent) 69.1%
Jenny Garcia Sharon, Republican 26.7%

Stay on top of San Antonio news and views. Sign up for our Weekly Headlines Newsletter.


Since 1986, the SA Current has served as the free, independent voice of San Antonio, and we want to keep it that way.

Becoming an SA Current Supporter for as little as $5 a month allows us to continue offering readers access to our coverage of local news, food, nightlife, events, and culture with no paywalls.

Join today to keep San Antonio Current.

Scroll to read more San Antonio News articles

Sanford Nowlin

Sanford Nowlin is editor-in-chief of the San Antonio Current.

Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.