Monsters of Folk

Monsters of Folk
Composer: Monsters of Folk
Label: Shangri-La
Release Date: 2009-09-30
Rated: NONE
Media: CD
Length: LP
Format: Album
Genre: Recording

Monsters of Folk was spawned in post-show jams between Bright Eyes, My Morning Jacket, and M. Ward in 2004., but it’s taken them five years to translate the backstage jams into a studio experience.

They may be Monsters of Folk, but they’ve clearly colored outside genre lines. “Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)” features a Marvin Gaye-meets-Moby ambient-soul texture. It’s followed by the Jeff Lynne-flavored “Say Please,” the Wilburys/Beatlesque pop-rock of “Whole Lotta Losin’,” the Everly Brothers twang of “Magic Marker,” and the reverb shimmer of “Temazcal.” The Monsters don’t skimp on the folk, though — from the George Harrison country romp “The Right Place” to the Wilco-at-a-bluegrass-festival protest song “Man Named Truth,” and the low-key gospel of “Goodway.” Considering the band’s spontaneous, collaborative approach to writing, the album is understandably diverse but unexpectedly cohesive.

Scroll to read more San Antonio News articles
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.