Peels Sessions

Peel Sessions
Composer: Nebula
Conductor: Nebula
Label: Cargo/Sweet Nothing
Release Date: 2009-01-14
Rated: NONE
Genre: Recording

These dumb-ass stoner rockers don’t exactly endear themselves when they start this compilation off by snarling “Radio One make the girls come” over a nondescript, sludge-filled guitar riff that sounds ripped right out of early Sabbath. Fortunately, things progress quickly as the comp’s second track, “Instant Gravitation,” finds the band rocking hard and letting loose nimble-fingered solos. Featuring 11 songs recorded live between 2002 and 2004 for a John Peel Sessions program and a Radio One show, this is too rough around the edges to be the best introduction to Nebula (although it does feature the classic line-up of singer-guitarist Eddie Glass, guitarist Ian Ross, bassist Matt Abshire, and drummer Ruben Romano). Still, the groovy “Sonic Titan” features a nice segment of dueling guitars and “So It Goes” is appropriately menacing.

Scroll to read more San Antonio News articles
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.