Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Jeff Buckley to Release Posthumous Covers Album

Posted By on Wed, Jan 13, 2016 at 12:53 PM

click to enlarge The cover to Buckley's single full-length LP Grace - COURTESY
  • Courtesy
  • The cover to Buckley's single full-length LP Grace
Entitled You and I, a 10-track record of rare, unheard outtakes and cover songs from early in Buckley's career, is set to be released on March 16. The album, which includes early Buckley originals of "Grace" and "Dream Of You And I," also includes cover works and traditional tunes from artists as disparate as bluesman Bukka White, Bob Dylan, The Smiths and Led Zeppelin.

Here is the song list:

1) Just Like A Woman (Bob Dylan)
2) Everyday People (Sly & The Family Stone)
3) Don't Let The Sun Catch You Cryin' (First recorded by Louis Jordan)
4) Grace (original)
5) Calling You (Jevetta Steele)
6) Dream Of You And I (original)
7) The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (The Smiths)
8) Poor Boy Long Way From Home (traditional blues song, Bukka White vers.)
9) Night Flight (Led Zeppelin)
10) I Know It's Over (The Smiths)

However, to tide you over until the release date, here's Buckley's honey-voiced rendition of The High Priestess of Soul, Nina Simone's "Lilac Wine," as well as a cover of Bob Dylan's tender put-down track, "Just Like a Woman," which will be included on the album, via NPR

Tags: , , ,

Speaking of Jeff Buckley, You And I



Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.