15 Actors Who Should’ve Won an Oscar for Their Voice Work

Page 5 of 5

Josh Gad as Olaf, Frozen (2013)

For me, Gad falls under the same category as DeGeneres’ Dory – slightly irritating in the most adorable kind of way. Nevertheless, Olaf steals all of his scenes and “In Summer” is too catchy and ironic to ignore. Other nominees: Paul Giamatti as Chet in Turbo; Kristen Wiig as Lucy in Despicable Me 2; Terry Crews as Officer Earl Devereaux in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2.

Ben Kingsley as Archibald Snatcher, The Boxtrolls (2014)

Local pest exterminator makes a deal to get rid of all the Boxtrolls in town in exchange to become a member of a council of high society. Kingsley shines as the hardhearted villain, who gets a chance to do a little cross-dressing during his mischievous deeds. Other nominees: Ryan Potter as Hiro Hamada and T.J. Miller as Fred in Big Hero 6.

Phyllis Smith as Sadness, Inside Out (2015)

The entire cast is top-notch, but Smith’s Sadness is what voice casting is all about – putting the right person in the right role and not worrying about star power or name recognition. Smith is perfect. Other nominees: Amy Poehler as Joy, Lewis Black as Anger and Richard Kind as Bing Bong in Inside Out; Tom Noonan as “everyone else” in Anomalisa.

About The Author

Scroll to read more Arts Stories & Interviews articles
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.