Support Local Journalism, Join the SA Current Press Club.

Breaking: Preliminary Election Results Are In 

click to enlarge electiondayjpg

The results for the primaries are in, and we've listed the winners of the more popular contested races. You can find the entire listing of election results at the Bexar County Elections Department. Democratic Incumbent Republican Incumbent U.S. Senator R:  John Cornyn D: David M. Alameel U.S. House Representatives  District 21 R: Lamar Smith U.S. House Representatives  District 23 R Runoff: Francisco "Quico" Canseco,  Will Hurd D: Pete P. Gallego Governor of Texas R: Greg Abbott D: Wendy R. Davis Lieutenant Governor R Runoff: David Dewhurst, Dan Patrick D: Leticia Van de Putte Attorney General R Runoff: Ken Paxton, Dan Branch D: Sam Houston Comptroller of Public Accounts — Open Seat R Runoff: Glenn Hegar, Harvey Hilderbran D: Mike Collier Land Commissioner — Open Seat R: George P. Bush D: John Cook Commissioner of Agriculture — Open Seat R Runoff: Sid Miller, Tommy Merritt D Runoff: Richard "Kinky" Friedman, Jim Hogan Railroad Commissioner — Open Seat R Runoff: Wayne Christian, Ryan Sitton D: Steve Brown State Senator, District 25 R Runoff: Donna CampbellElisa Chan D: Daniel Boone State Representative, District 117 R: Rick Galindo D: Philip Cortez State Representative, District 121 R: Joe Straus Bexar County District Attorney D: Nicholas LaHood* *with 50.19 percent of the vote, and 94.52 percent of precincts reporting at the time of this publication. We will update if his opponent Therese Huntzinger (49.81 percent) pulls ahead. Bexar County Judge D: Nelson Wolff District Clerk D Runoff: Mary Angie Garcia, Elva Abundis-Esparza County Clerk D Runoff: Suzanne de Leon, Cassandra Littlejohn County Commissioner, Precinct 2 D: Paul Elizondo County Commissioner, Precinct 4 – Open Seat R Runoff: Timothy Wilson, Alan E. Baxter D Runoff: Debra Guerrero, Tommy Calvert

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

January 12, 2022

View more issues


Join SA Current Newsletters

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2022 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation