Support Local Journalism, Join the SA Current Press Club.

'Current' steams through Houston Press Club awards with four firsts 


A fine sweep at the Lone Star Awards of the Houston Press Club capped off a successful 2012 awards season for the Current. On Saturday, Staff Writer Michael Barajas (right) was cradling three icy plastic turrets with submerged stars declaring his coverage of mental health and toxicity legacies in the military complex of San Antonio as gold-medal public offerings, leading to his first place win as Reporter of the Year. Editor Greg Harman shared the win with him for the toxics package that included an update on the San Antonio Seven and multiple chemical sensitivity, and caught a first place of his own for column writing.

The awards followed another batch of wins, including Art Director Chuck Kerr's first place win at the Association of Alternative Newsmedia for his stunning cover designs (as well as Thomas Jenkins' third-place Wicked Stage blog mention and Lone Star Green's third-place recognition).

But don't worry. We're not too puffed up yet; we'll still be happy to bend elbows with you are the local watering hole. Just make sure the next one is on the house. We may be bona fide public servants over here, but ain't no one getting rich on this wagon.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

January 12, 2022

View more issues


Join SA Current Newsletters

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2022 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation