Support Local Journalism, Join the SA Current Press Club.

Here's What We Know About San Antonio's Municipal Election Results 

click to enlarge Mayoral candidate Greg Brockhouse speaks to the media at his watch party. - SANFORD NOWLIN
  • Sanford Nowlin
  • Mayoral candidate Greg Brockhouse speaks to the media at his watch party.
With a majority of precincts reporting in Saturday's municipal election, here's a look at who's staying and which races will be decided by an early June runoff.

The incredibly close race is headed to a runoff with 81% of precincts reporting at press time. Incumbent Mayor Ron Nirenberg led, capturing 48% (46,036) of the vote. His key challenger, Greg Brockhouse, pulled in 45% (43,568), beating many political observers' expectations.

District 1
Incumbent Councilman Roberto Treviño held onto his seat, securing 59% of the vote at press time. He beat out eight other candidates, including well-financed business candidate Justin Holley.

District 2
San Antonio's East Side representation is still up in the air and also headed to a runoff. Leaders in the eight-candidate race include Keith Toney (27%), Jada L. Andrews-Sullivan (21%) and Denise Gutierrez-Homer (20%).

District 3
Elizabeth "Liz" Campos was unsuccessful in unseating incumbent Rebecca Viagran. The councilwoman received 58% of the vote.

District 4
The replacement for outgoing Councilman Rey Saldaña, who reached his eight-year term limit, has yet to be decided. A runoff appears necessary since none of the top candidates was able to clinch the a clear majority. Adriana Rocha Garcia got close with 47% of the vote, while Johnny Arredondo had 20% and Samantha "Sami" Sanchez had 16%.

District 5
Incumbent Councilwoman Shirley Gonzales defeated her three competitors without much trouble. She had 65% of the vote at press time.

District 6
In the race to replace Brockhouse, who vacated his slot to run for mayor, Melissa Cabello Havrda lead at press time with 46% of the votes, while Andy Greene secured 35% of votes.

District 7
Like Gonzales, incumbent Councilwoman Ana Sandoval will keep her seat after facing three other candidates. She landed 68% of the vote.

District 8
Councilman Manny Pelaez will keep his seat, securing a 58% majority in his district.

District 9
Councilman John Courage will also stay to represent his district thanks to support from 53% of voters.

District 10
Incumbent Councilman Clayton Perry defeated four candidates — all women — to keep his seat. He held 63% of the vote.

Check back for analysis about what these results mean for San Antonio.

Stay on top of San Antonio news and views. Sign up for our Weekly Headlines Newsletter.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

January 26, 2022

View more issues


Join SA Current Newsletters

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2022 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation