LOW-COST CULTURE 

Every year, the San Antonio scene offers an abundance of high-brow, low-dollar opportunities, but every year the list gets slimmer. Some perennials: The Stieren lecture series at Trinity University is not only free, it provides some of the most provocative discourse in town. Music organizations frequently perform on a "donation" basis, and if you are truly strapped for cash you'll still be welcomed for a song. Check out the Sheldon Vexler theater at the Jewish Community Center: Not only is their facility among the finest in the city, their prices are pretty fine, too. Family shows weigh in at a miserly $3.50 per ticket.

A special "pick of the season" goes to a subscription for Firelight Players. Why do we like this troupe of local theater pros? Because they actually mount a full season, they know what it is by mid-summer, and they sell a full year of theater at a very reasonable price ($39 for five shows and one extra ticket for a friend). They also commit to variety, a crucial consideration when shopping for a season. This year's list includes old chestnuts such as The Crucible, and fresh works like the comedy Defiled. They even support young writers, with their Firestarters Festival, now in its 5th year. And this year Firelight adds a musical twist with the Rocky Horror Show. Need I say more?

HUMAN RIGHTS WATCH TRAVELING FILM FESTIVAL
Laurie Auditorium
715 Stadium Drive
999-8515
Tuesday, September 3 — War Photographer (director Christian Frei) Wednesday, September 4 — Gaza Strip (directed by James Longley) Thursday, September 5 — The Trials of Henry Kissinger (directed by Alex Gibney and Eugene Jarecki)
All screenings free and open to the public

THE SHAKESPEARE REVUE
Sunset Station
1174 East Commerce
222-9481
8pm
Thursday, August 22 through Sunday, August 25
Free

OLMOS ENSEMBLE FEATURING CHRISTOPHER WILKINS
Christ Episcopal Church
510 Belknap
384-0929
Tuesday, September 17
$10 adults, $5 students and seniors (suggested donations)

TANGO BY SLAWOMIR MROZEK
Jane and Arthur Stieren Theater
715 Stadium Drive
999-8515
Friday, October 4 through Sunday, October 6; Wednesday, October 9 through
Saturday, October 12
$6 general, $5 seniors, $4 students

INTERNATIONAL ACCODION FESTIVAL
La Villita
271-3151 (Guadalupe Cultural Arts Center)
Saturday, October 19 & Sunday, October 20
Free

STRINGS GALORE
Sunday, November 3
Free
Location TBA
A celebration of strings with the Youth Orchestra of San Antonio

THE SCHOOL FOR SCANDAL BY RICHARD BRINSLEY SHERIDAN
Jane and Arthur Stieren Theater
715 Stadium Drive
999-8515
Friday, November 15 through Sunday, November 17; Wednesday, November 20 through Saturday, November 23
$6 general, $5 seniors, $4 students

A CEREMONY OF CAROLS WITH THE CHILDREN'S CHORUS OF SAN ANTONIO
St. Anthony de Padua Catholic Church
826-3447 (CCSS)
Sunday, November 17
Free-will offerings accepted for the restoration of the "Little Shrine"

TRINITY UNIVERSITY FACULTY RECITAL
Wednesday, October 9
Free
Ruth Taylor Concert Hall
Trinity University
999-8515
Instructors Jan Roller and Carolyn True sound off on the trumpet and piano, respectively.

YOSA CHAMBER ORCHESTRA CONCERT
Saturday, January 26
Free
Leeper Auditorium
McNay Museum
6000 N. New Braunfels Avenue
737-0097 (YOSA)

More by Retha Oliver

Calendar

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.