Radiohead Release Ninth Studio Album, A Moon Shaped Pool

click to enlarge The cover to A Moon Shaped Pool - COURTESY
The cover to A Moon Shaped Pool

Today is that day. That precious, special day that has only ever occurred eight times before in the history of the universe: Today is the day after Radiohead released a record. The indie world is abuzz, hearts aflutter inside sweaters of cardigan, and, really, the music world in general. The ninth studio album from the Oxfordshire quintet, A Moon Shaped Pool, was released via iTunes, Tidal, Apple Music and the group's website Sunday, May 8.

Several of the eleven tracks on the album will be familiar to fans, "True Love Waits" has been in the band's set since 2001, singer Thom Yorke performed the tracks "The Numbers," "Present Tense" and "Desert Island Disk" at last year's Paris climate summit, "The Numbers" then being referred to as "Silent Spring." The group also performed "Identikit" and "Ful Stop" on tour in 2012. 

For several weeks now, fans have been anticipating a release from the group as they established several companies to, speculatively, handle the release of the album, actions the band also took before the unexpected release of their previous two records, King of Limbs and In Rainbows.

Last week the band released the single "Burn The Witch." A typically thought-provoking socially critical stop motion video accompanied the anxious cut that features Jonny Greenwood's signature slicing and grating orchestral riffs over a percussive pizzicato, tethered by Yorke's smooth, rich tenor.

Below is the full track list as well as the video for the second single off of the record, "Daydreaming," which features a classically stoic Yorke passing through numerous doors and scenes. The video was shot by Paul Thomas Anderson, the director of Boogie Nights, Magnolia, Inherent Vice, The Master and There Will Be Blood, the latter three films featuring scores by Greenwood. The album will be released in CD and vinyl formats on June 17th with a special edition album released in September which will feature a copy of master tape from the group's library of past recordings:

"This is a piece of a Radiohead ½ inch master tape from an actual recording session. The tape degrades over time and becomes unplayable. We thought rather than it ending up as landfill we would cut it up and make it useful as a part of the special edition. A new life for some obsolete technology ... Each loop contains about ¾ of a second of audio - which could be from any era in the band's recording past going back to Kid A. You may have silence, you may have coloured leader tape, you may have a chorus... It's a crapshoot. We have copies. Don't worry."

1- "Burn the Witch"
2- "Daydreaming" 
3- "Decks Dark" 
4- "Desert Island Disk" 
5- "Ful Stop" 
6- "Glass Eyes" 
7- "Identikit" 
8- "The Numbers" 
9- "Present Tense" 
10- "Tinker Tailor Soldier Sailor Rich Man Poor Man Beggar Man Thief" 
11- "True Love Waits"

Scroll to read more Music Stories & Interviews articles
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.