Support Local Journalism, Join the SA Current Press Club.

Rosemary Catacalos Named 2013 Texas Poet Laureate 


The Texas Commission on the Arts (TCA) has announced the state lege has named San Antonio native Rosemary Catacalos 2013 Texas Poet Laureate. Catacalos’ poems are published widely in high school and college textbooks; her acclaimed collection, Again for the First Time (1984, Tooth of Times, Santa Fe), winner of the Texas Institute of Letters Poetry Prize, will be republished in a special 30th year edition by Wings Press to be released July 1. Catacolos was director of Gemini Ink from 2003-2012, and is a Dobie-Paisono fellow, a Stegner fellow, and has received many other honors.

Also named are 2013 Texas State Musician Craig Hella Johnson of Austin, Texas State Two-Dimensional Artist Jim Woodson of Fort Worth, and Texas State Three-Dimensional Artist Joseph Havel of Houston.  The 2014 appointees include Texas Poet Laureate Dean Young of Austin, Texas State Musician Flaco Jimenez of San Antonio, Texas State Two-Dimensional Artist Julie Speed of Marfa, and Texas State Three-Dimensional Artist Ken Little of San Antonio.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

January 12, 2022

View more issues


Join SA Current Newsletters

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2022 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation