Support Local Journalism, Join the SA Current Press Club.

Spurs Coyote Named NBA Mascot of the Year 


Congratulations Coyote!

In 2014, the Spurs have been raking in the accolades: the NBA championship title, Kawhi Leonard's Finals MVP, Gregg Popovich's 2014 Coach of the Year award, GM R.C. Buford's Executive of the Year award and the wide acclaim for hiring the first female coach in NBA history.

Add to that prestigious list the Coyote's Mascot of the Year award, voted on by the league's fellow 29 mascots. Already the innovator behind the t-shirt cannon, the Coyote may have won for the impromptu performance of losing his eyes after making contact with a Nuggets player.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

January 12, 2022

View more issues


Join SA Current Newsletters

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2022 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation