The 2014 Election Live Blog

The polls close at 7 p.m. and we'll be live blogging election results, reactions and developments all night. Follow us on Twitter at @SACurrent, or you can get updates all night from our news team. Alexa Garcia-Ditta (@agarciaditta) will be updating on statewide races. Mark Reagan (@210Reagan) will focus on the local elections. 

For statewide election results, check here, and find Bexar County election results here

Be sure to check out the Current tomorrow for updated blogs on Texas and San Antonio's key midterm election results.

Update 10:49 p.m.: We're going to go ahead and call LaHood the winner in the DA race. Reed is out. And a runoff is likely in the District 2 special election between Toney, an appointed incumbent, and Warrick.

Update: 10:31 p.m.: With 90% of the vote, LaHood maintains lead, 51.50%, to Reed's 48.50% in DA race, looking like we'll have a new DA.

Update: 10:16 p.m.: Tommy Calvert wins the race for Bexar County Pct 4 commissioner.

Update: 10:12 p.m.: The race for Congressional District 23 is tight. 60% precincts report 49.30% for Will Hurd, 48.32% Pete Gallego

Update: 10:09 p.m.: With 79% of Bexar County precincts reporting, it appears that Judge Nelson Wolff has defeated Carlton Soules and will keep his seat. Nico LaHood (51.40%) is extending his lead over incumbent District Attorney Susan Reed (48.60%). 

Update: 10:08 p.m.: You can watch livestreams of the election night parties at the Texas Tribune.

Update: 9:52 p.m.: In D2 special election, Councilman Toney has 31.62% of vote to Alan Warrick's 31.83%,, runoff imminent 

Update: 9:36 p.m.: With 45% of Bexar Country precincts counted, Nelson Wolff looks to maintain his seat as Bexar County Judge, Nico Lahood is maintaining a small lead over Susan Reed in the district attorney race. 

Update: 9:30 p.m.: Wendy Davis concedes: "Thank you for giving me the privilege of a lifetime."

Update: 9:08 p.m.: 
LaHood is edging at incumbent DA Reed 50.27% to 49.73% with a little more than 22% of pcts counted in DA race.

Update: 8:33 p.m.: Leticia Van de Putte concedes: "I congratulate Dan Patrick on running a disciplined campaign."

Update: 8:31 p.m.: WIth 40 out of 713 precincts reporting, it's still a tight race between Reed (50.39%) and LaHood (49.61%). In the Bexar County Judge Race, incumbent Nelson Wolff (51.31%) leads challenger Carlton Soules (45.41%). 

Update: 8:21 p.m.: The Texas Tribune projects approval for Texas Prop 1, the Texas transportation ballot measure. 

Update: 8:13 p.m.: The AP is calling incumbent John Cornyn the winner in the Texas senate race. 

Update: 8:08 p.m.:
AP and the Texas Tribune have called the Texas gubernatorial race for Greg Abbott. Dan Patrick is declared winner in Lt. Governor race. 

Update: 7:36 p.m.: The Texas Tribune has called the Congressional District 20 race for Joaquin Castro. 

Update: 7:34 p.m.: In the Bexar County Pct. 4 Race Tommy Calvert (54.64%) has a strong lead over opponent Timothy Wilson (45.36%).

Update: 7:21 p.m.: With 36 precincts reporting statewide, Abbott leads with 67.67% of votes in the gubernatorial race. Dan Patrick leads with 66.47% of the votes in the Lt. gubernatorial race. 

Update, 7:09p.m.: In Bexar County early voting results, Abbott leads the gubernatorial race, while Leticia Van de Putte leads in the Lt. Governor race. District Attorney Susan Reed barely leads over challenger Nico Lahood. 

Update, 7:00 p.m.: Polls are now closed in Bexar County and across Texas. We'll be providing results as they come in. Bexar County has updated their official early voting results. 191,701 votes were cast. Check it out here. 

Scroll to read more San Antonio News articles
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.