No News is Bad News. Join the SA Current Press Club.

The Chamber Orchestra of San Antonio Celebrates the Forbidden Composers Banned by the Nazis 

click to enlarge Guest conductor Gemma New - ROY COX
  • Roy Cox
  • Guest conductor Gemma New

The Chamber Orchestra of San Antonio's new series, appropriately (if melodramatically) dubbed Forbidden Composers, kicks off Saturday at the Tobin Center. Featuring the music of politically oppressed artists throughout history, the inaugural concert presents works by three Jewish composers who were stifled by the Nazi regime. Each of these individuals and their works — Hanns Eisler's "Suite for Orchestra No. 4," Erwin Schulhoff's "Suite for Chamber Orchestra," and Alexander Zemlinsky's "Chamber Symphony" — were, in their time, treated as threats to the Third Reich.

The result of this oppression was dire in the composers' own time and left their stellar works to be forgotten by history. Until now, these pieces have only very rarely been performed. Thus, the performance of these particular works becomes one part memoriam and one part education.

"This is an important performance because it's an opportunity to hear composers that were directly affected by the Nazi regime," said Paul Montalvo, artistic director of the chamber orchestra. "Because of the [70th] anniversary of Auschwitz's liberation, and in light of recent anti-Semitic events in our city, the evening will carry added significance."

Gemma New, guest conductor and associate conductor of the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra, said, "This program is special because these composers had their lives turned upside down ... Especially like Schulhoff, who actually perished in a concentration camp, and this of course prevented them from continuing their remarkable work."

The compositions, New said, are more light-hearted than you might imagine. Schulhoff's piece "Suite for Chamber Orchestra," in particular, incorporates elements of ragtime, jazz, tango and waltz. Meanwhile, Eisler's "Suite for Orchestra No. 4" is a piece of a film score that "has a certain old-Hollywood sound" that also fuses jazz with classical composition. Meanwhile, the heavy hitter of the trio, von Zemlinsky's "Chamber Symphony" plays like an updated Brahms or Mahler — romantic with intriguing departures in tonality. It will leave listeners with "something to really chew on."

The Forbidden Composers

$45, 8pm Sat, Oct. 3, Tobin Center, 100 Auditorium, (210) 223-8624,

San Antonio Current works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of San Antonio and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep San Antonio's true free press free.

Read the Digital Print Issue

February 24, 2021

View more issues


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2021 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation