Today is the Last Chance to Vote in Primary Runoffs

Flickr creative commons
Voting in the Democrat and Republican primary runoff elections ends at 7 p.m. today.

Friday marked the last day of early voting, with a total of 22,750 Bexar County residents casting ballots. Even though early turnout was below the 2014 midterm primary elections by approximately 11,000 votes, Bexar County Elections Administrator Jacquelyn Callanen said she thinks election day numbers will be higher than in the last midterm election.

“I’m hoping we can get somewhere around 30,000 for election day,” Callanen said. “The last one we had 18,000 on election day in 2014, so I’m hoping we will beat that since we have increased the voter registration numbers in the county.”

If you haven't voted yet, and you're registered, visit one of the hundreds of voting sites across Bexar County. People who voted in the primary in March must vote in the same party for this runoff election. Those who did not vote in March are still eligible to cast a ballot this month.

Before you hit the polls, be sure to check out some of the major runoff candidates on the ballot.

Democratic Party


Lupe Valdez was a captain in the U.S. Army and a federal agent before she served as sheriff of Dallas County, beginning in 2005. Valdez held her position as sheriff for 12 years before deciding to run for governor.

Andrew White’s work in business began with his involvement with start-up businesses before he established Allied Warranty and Lone Star Repair in 2005 and 2006, respectively. Today, White, son of the late Gov. Mark White, is the president of Sweat Equity Partners LP.

U.S. Representative, District 21

Joseph Kopser is a veteran who both attended and taught at West Point. After serving in Iraq, Kopser worked at the Pentagon and later founded RideScout, a trip-planning phone app.
Mary Street Wilson
was a teacher at schools across the country for 20 years before becoming a pastor for the local Church of the Savior for 16 years.

U.S. Representative, District 23

Gina Ortiz Jones entered the Air Force as an intelligence officer and was deployed to Iraq under the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy. Throughout her 12 years of service, Jones’ focus was on national security, intelligence and defense. Jones is also a member of the Truman National Security Project Defense Council.

Rick Trevino is a teacher at Sam Houston High School in San Antonio. Trevino has served as Secretary of the Bexar County Democratic Party where he stood against the Trans-Pacific Partnership and Chained CPI.

Commissioner Court, Precinct 2

Paul Elizondo is a Marine Corps veteran and was a band director and school music supervisor for 16 years. Elizondo has been involved in politics since 1978 when he first ran for state representative, and has held the Precinct 2 seat since the mid-1980s.

Queta Rodriguez enlisted in the Marine Corps in 1991 where she served for 20 years. Rodriguez is the veterans service officer for Bexar County in addition to serving on several advisory boards, including for the San Antonio Military and Veteran Community Collaborative.

Republican Party

U.S. Representative, District 21

Chip Roy
was a federal prosecutor before serving as the staff director of Republican Sen. John Cornyn’s leadership office. Roy also has served as the first assistant attorney general of Texas and the vice president of strategy for the Texas Public Policy Foundation.

Matt McCall has owned and operated businesses, including one that he started in 2004 that supplies surgical products to military hospitals in Europe and Asia.

State Representatives, District 121

The current state representative for District 121, Republican House Speaker Joe Straus, is retiring after 13 years.

Matt Beebe is an Air Force veteran and the third generation in his family to serve overseas. Beebe is a small business owner who cofounded a company that provides information technology services with his wife.

Steve Allison is a business attorney focusing on both large and small businesses, doctors and religious organizations. He has served on the Alamo Heights school board for 12 years, including three terms as president. In addition, Allison previously served on VIA Metropolitan Transit's board of trustees.

Beebe ran unsuccessfully against Straus prior to this year’s election. Straus endorsed Allison in April.

County Chair

Jo Ann Ponce Gonzalez has worked at Texas A&M University–San Antonio, Southwest Independent School District and the former Kelly Air Force Base. Gonzalez’s community service has included work on the Bexar County Jail Expansion Advisory Board and then-Mayor Bill Thorton’s Affirmative Action Advisory Board.

Cynthia Brehm pursued a career in marketing and advertising before serving on the boards of multiple charities while her husband was on active duty in the military. Brehm, a 2015 mayoral candidate and 2017 Council District 8 contender, has served as a presiding judge and an alternate judge for the Bexar County Elections Department.

Stay on top of San Antonio news and views. Sign up for our Weekly Headlines Newsletter.
Scroll to read more San Antonio News articles
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.