Support Local Journalism. Join the SA Current Press Club.

Top contributors to the District 21 race 

Lamar Smith (Republican)
1. National Auto Dealers Assn.: $10,000
2. United Services Automobile Assn. Group: $10,000
3. Schering-Plough Corp.: $7,500 (pharmaceuticals)
4. TXU Corp.: $7,500 (Texas utilities)
5. Lockheed Martin: $7,000 (defense contractor)
6. HB Zachry Co.: $6,200 (builder)
7. Verizon Communications: $5,750 (telecommunications)
8. Loeffler, Jonas & Tuggey: $5,000 (lobbyist for business, real estate, energy, and water interests)
9. Wal-Mart Stores: $5,000
10. National Rifle Assn.: $4,950

John Courage (Democrat)
1. Intl Brotherhood of Electrical Workers: $7,500 (Union)
2. National Cmte for an Effective Congress: $3,000 (a progressive PAC)
3. Sheet Metal Workers Union: $2,500 (Union)
4. Law Offices of Pat Maloney: $2,000 (Defense attorney)
5. Pro-Immigration PAC: $1,603
6. Texas Federation of Teachers: $1,000 (union)
7. Communications Workers of America: $1,000 (Union)
8. Miley & Brown: $1,000 (immigration law)
9. National Education Assn.: $1,000
10. Tindall & Foster: $1,000 (immigration law)

Source: Center for Responsive Politics

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

April 7, 2021

View more issues


Join SA Current Newsletters

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2021 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation