Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Death To False Metal

Posted on Wed, Nov 10, 2010 at 4:00 AM

click to enlarge music_cd_weezer_cmyk.jpg
Death To False Metal
Composer: Weezer
Conductor: Weezer
Label: DGC Records
Release Date: 2010-11-10
Rated: NONE
Genre: Recording

In concurrence with the Pinkerton re-release, 10 hand-picked tracks spanning Weezer’s career have been re-recorded for the first official rarities collection titled Death to False Metal. The majority of these tracks are forgettable, while a cover of Toni Braxton’s “Unbreak My Heart” is just confusing. The nonsensical lyrics of “I’m a Robot,” “Autopilot,” and “The Odd Couple” would be endearing on a Nickelodeon cartoon soundtrack, but here they are grating and inspire a game of how long you can hold out without hitting the skip button. “Trampoline,” a 1998-era gem, sparkles in comparison and would have found a better home on the Pinkerton re-release. The angst-heavy “Everyone” harkens back to ’90s grunge and shows off some of Pat Wilson’s drumming flair but comes across as disingenuous. If planning to buy this collection, go for the iTunes version, as it includes the superb bonus track “Mykel and Carli,” a b-side from the Blue Album.

Tags: , ,



Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.