Monday, July 9, 2012

'Current' steams through Houston Press Club awards with four firsts

Posted By on Mon, Jul 9, 2012 at 6:00 PM


A fine sweep at the Lone Star Awards of the Houston Press Club capped off a successful 2012 awards season for the Current. On Saturday, Staff Writer Michael Barajas (right) was cradling three icy plastic turrets with submerged stars declaring his coverage of mental health and toxicity legacies in the military complex of San Antonio as gold-medal public offerings, leading to his first place win as Reporter of the Year. Editor Greg Harman shared the win with him for the toxics package that included an update on the San Antonio Seven and multiple chemical sensitivity, and caught a first place of his own for column writing.

The awards followed another batch of wins, including Art Director Chuck Kerr's first place win at the Association of Alternative Newsmedia for his stunning cover designs (as well as Thomas Jenkins' third-place Wicked Stage blog mention and Lone Star Green's third-place recognition).

But don't worry. We're not too puffed up yet; we'll still be happy to bend elbows with you are the local watering hole. Just make sure the next one is on the house. We may be bona fide public servants over here, but ain't no one getting rich on this wagon.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

We’re keeping you informed…
...and it’s what we love to do. From local politics and culture to national news that hits close to home, San Antonio Current has been keeping San Antonio informed for years.

It’s never been more important to support local news sources. A free press means accountability and a well-informed public, and we want to keep our unique and independent reporting available for many, many years to come.

If quality journalism is important to you, please consider a donation to San Antonio Current. Every reader contribution is valuable and so appreciated, and goes directly to support our coverage of critical issues and neighborhood culture. Thank you.

Read the Digital Print Issue

March 25, 2020


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2020 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation