No News is Bad News. Join the SA Current Press Club.

Friday, January 23, 2015

Runoff Elections to Replace Key San Antonio State Legislators Set For Feb 17

Posted By on Fri, Jan 23, 2015 at 5:43 PM

click to enlarge capitolc_1024_1_.jpg

Gov. Greg Abbott announced Friday that the runoff elections to replace State Sen. Leticia Van de Putte and State Rep. Mike Villarreal, both longtime Democrats who are running for mayor of the Alamo City, will take place on Tuesday, February 17, 2015. 

Texas House colleagues Trey Martinez Fischer and Jose Menendez will face one another in the Senate race after neither garnered the majority of the votes needed to win the race in January. Fischer walked away from the special election, which featured a crowded field of candidates, with 43.28 percent of the vote. Menendez ended election night with 25.37 percent. The two Latino Democrats have represented San Antonio in the Texas House for 14 years.

Diego Bernal, former District 1 City Council member and the Democratic candidate running for Villarreal's House seat, faces Republican Nunzio Previtera. Bernal obtained 47.46 percent of the vote in January, with Previtera receiving 21.28 percent. The district, which includes central and west San Antonio, has been heavily Democratic for years.

Early voting runs from February 9 through February 13.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

San Antonio Current works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of San Antonio and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep San Antonio's true free press free.

Read the Digital Print Issue

February 24, 2021

View more issues


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2021 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation