Saturday, May 4, 2019

Here's What We Know About San Antonio's Municipal Election Results

Posted By on Sat, May 4, 2019 at 10:30 PM

click to enlarge Mayoral candidate Greg Brockhouse speaks to the media at his watch party. - SANFORD NOWLIN
  • Sanford Nowlin
  • Mayoral candidate Greg Brockhouse speaks to the media at his watch party.
With a majority of precincts reporting in Saturday's municipal election, here's a look at who's staying and which races will be decided by an early June runoff.

The incredibly close race is headed to a runoff with 81% of precincts reporting at press time. Incumbent Mayor Ron Nirenberg led, capturing 48% (46,036) of the vote. His key challenger, Greg Brockhouse, pulled in 45% (43,568), beating many political observers' expectations.

District 1
Incumbent Councilman Roberto Treviño held onto his seat, securing 59% of the vote at press time. He beat out eight other candidates, including well-financed business candidate Justin Holley.

District 2
San Antonio's East Side representation is still up in the air and also headed to a runoff. Leaders in the eight-candidate race include Keith Toney (27%), Jada L. Andrews-Sullivan (21%) and Denise Gutierrez-Homer (20%).

District 3
Elizabeth "Liz" Campos was unsuccessful in unseating incumbent Rebecca Viagran. The councilwoman received 58% of the vote.

District 4
The replacement for outgoing Councilman Rey Saldaña, who reached his eight-year term limit, has yet to be decided. A runoff appears necessary since none of the top candidates was able to clinch the a clear majority. Adriana Rocha Garcia got close with 47% of the vote, while Johnny Arredondo had 20% and Samantha "Sami" Sanchez had 16%.

District 5
Incumbent Councilwoman Shirley Gonzales defeated her three competitors without much trouble. She had 65% of the vote at press time.

District 6
In the race to replace Brockhouse, who vacated his slot to run for mayor, Melissa Cabello Havrda lead at press time with 46% of the votes, while Andy Greene secured 35% of votes.

District 7
Like Gonzales, incumbent Councilwoman Ana Sandoval will keep her seat after facing three other candidates. She landed 68% of the vote.

District 8
Councilman Manny Pelaez will keep his seat, securing a 58% majority in his district.

District 9
Councilman John Courage will also stay to represent his district thanks to support from 53% of voters.

District 10
Incumbent Councilman Clayton Perry defeated four candidates — all women — to keep his seat. He held 63% of the vote.

Check back for analysis about what these results mean for San Antonio.

Stay on top of San Antonio news and views. Sign up for our Weekly Headlines Newsletter.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We’re keeping you informed…
...and it’s what we love to do. From local politics and culture to national news that hits close to home, San Antonio Current has been keeping San Antonio informed for years.

It’s never been more important to support local news sources. A free press means accountability and a well-informed public, and we want to keep our unique and independent reporting available for many, many years to come.

If quality journalism is important to you, please consider a donation to San Antonio Current. Every reader contribution is valuable and so appreciated, and goes directly to support our coverage of critical issues and neighborhood culture. Thank you.

Read the Digital Print Issue

March 25, 2020


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2020 San Antonio Current

Website powered by Foundation