The Current Wins Two National Awards

Happy Sunday. We won some shit.


Last night, at the annual conference for the Association of Alternative Newsmedia, the winners of the 2014 AAN awards were announced. We were delighted to learn that former staff writer Mike Barajas took the gold in the Feature Story (circulation under 50,000, as are all the other award categories mentioned in this post) category and food and nightlife editor Jessica Elizarraras also won first-place in the Food Writing category.

Also, big shout-outs to our sister papers Orlando Weekly and Cleveland Scene. OW's arts and dining editor Jessica Bryce Young won first-place for Arts Criticism (here, here and here); editor Erin Sullivan earned an honorable mention nod for Arts Feature (for her coverage of the SeaWorld/Blackfish controversy, some of which we published last August); and associate editor Ashley Belanger also received an honorable mention for Music Criticism (here, here and here). Scene's news department took home second place in Investigative Reporting.

Congratulations to the winners! It's a pleasure to work with such a talented, determined group!



Scroll to read more San Antonio News articles


Join SA Current Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.